Notable Nominations!

Liev & Audra

Nominations for the 56th Annual Drama Desk Awards were announced this morning at a News Conference at the New York Friars Club by former Drama Desk Award winners Audra McDonald and Liev Schreiber. They were joined for the announcement by Drama Desk President Isa Goldberg; Barbara Siegel, Chairperson of the Drama Desk Nominating Committee; Drama Desk Awards Executive Producer Robert R. Blume; and Randie Levine-Miller, who has produced this event at the Friars Club for the past 15 years.

In keeping with the Drama Desk’s unique mission, nominators considered shows that opened on Broadway, Off Broadway and Off Off Broadway during the 2010/2011 New York theater season in the same competitive categories. Final deliberations took place at Travel Inn in New York City.

The 56th Annual Drama Desk Awards will be held Monday, May 23, 2011 in the elegant Hammerstein Ballroom in Manhattan Center. Hosted by former Drama Desk Award winner Harvey Fierstein, the awards ceremony will be filmed in HD for a 90-minute television special that will be given two primetime airings plus four additional national broadcasts on OVATION, the national cable network dedicated to arts culture in America, between June 4 and June 19, 2011. The awards ceremony will begin at 9:00 PM on May 23, following a gala sit-down dinner that starts at 7:45 PM.

For more details, visit

Post to Twitter Post to Facebook